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Alaska’s New Pretrial Release System 
Starting January 1, 2018, defendants charged with a crime in Alaska’s state courts will be subject 

to a new system of pretrial release. The new system is designed to be fairer, to reduce the criminal 

justice system’s reliance on pretrial detention in cases where it is not warranted, and to maintain or 

improve public safety outcomes. 

The Old System 
 In the old system, money bail was used as a proxy for the defendant’s risk of flight and risk to 

public safety if released. Money bail can be generally separated into two types: 

 Secured Bond: The judge sets an amount of money to be deposited to the court. Cash must be 
paid up front before the defendant can be released.  

 Unsecured Bond: The judge sets an amount of money to be deposited to the court. The 
defendant does not have to pay right away, but if the defendant fails to appear, the defendant 
owes the amount set. 

The Alaska Constitution guarantees a right to bail (to pretrial release) but judges had a wide 

latitude in setting money bond. If a defendant was asked to pay a very large secured bond, it often 

meant the defendant would stay in jail. So a very dangerous defendant might be asked to pay a secured 

bond of $500,000 or more.  

Sometimes, however, defendants were unable to pay even a very low amount of bail (say, $50), 

meaning they would stay in jail even if a judge did not think they were a great risk to the community. 

Furthermore, a study by the Alaska Judicial Council showed there were racial disparities in defendants 

who were and were not released before trial. 

Defendants in Alaska were also commonly released to a third-party custodian—someone who 

promises the court that they will watch the defendant 24/7 and report back if the defendant leaves or 

violates conditions of release. There are also private electronic monitoring companies that would act as 

a kind of third-party custodian. There was not, however, any state-run monitoring service. 

The New Release ‘Grid’ 
Judges must now release defendants according to their risk level and the type of crime charged. 

When a defendant is arrested and brought to jail, the new Pretrial Enforcement Division (a branch of 

the Department of Corrections) will conduct a risk assessment of that defendant using a tool developed 

specifically for Alaska.  

The risk assessment accounts for a number of factors and gives the defendant two scores which 

indicate whether they are low, moderate, or high risk for both failure to appear for court or new 

criminal arrests once released. The Pretrial Enforcement Division makes this information available to 

the prosecutors, the defense attorneys, and the courts before the defendant has an arraignment or first 

appearance. 1 

                                                           
1
 More details on the tool itself can be found here: http://www.correct.state.ak.us/pretrial/assessment-tool .  The 

tool produces two scores, one for risk of failure to appear (FTA) and one for risk of new criminal arrests (NCA). The 

http://www.correct.state.ak.us/pretrial/assessment-tool


Page 2 of 3 
 

 A judge will then look at the defendant’s assessed risk level and the crime charged, and make a 

release decision according to the statute: AS 12.30.011 (S.B. 91 section 59). The following grid 

summarizes the statute. 

Judicial Release Decision Grid 
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Terms explained: 

 Mandatory OR:  The defendant must be released on recognizance or on unsecured bond. 

 Presumptive OR:  The defendant must be released on recognizance or on unsecured bond, 

unless the judge finds clear and convincing evidence that no combination of release 

conditions with recognizance release or unsecured bond can reasonably ensure appearance 

in court and public safety. If the judge makes this finding on the record, secured money 

bond is authorized. 

 No Presumption:  Secured money bond is authorized.  The court may still release the 

defendant on recognizance or on unsecured bond. 

 DUI/refusal:  Driving under the influence or refusal to submit to a chemical test. 

 FTA/VCOR:  Failure to appear in court or violation of a condition of pretrial release. 

 Other:  Class B or higher felony charges, as well as all other charges that fall under an 

exception enumerated in the statute and that are not listed in another column, such as sex 

offenses, offenses against a person, and domestic violence offenses. 

Thus, under the new system, a person who is low risk and charged with a misdemeanor such as 
trespassing will be released on their own recognizance; they do not have to pay money bond, but must 
abide any conditions of release set by the judge. 

Someone who is charged with a serious crime may still have to pay a money bond. If they are 
assessed as low risk, a judge may order a secured money bond if the judge makes certain findings as 
specified in statute. A judge may skip this step if the person is assessed as moderate or high risk. Thus a 
defendant charged with sexual assault who is assessed as high risk may be asked to pay a $500,000 
secured bond. 

                                                                                                                                                                                           
score that controls is the higher of the two. Thus, a person who is low risk for FTA but moderate risk for NCA will 
be considered a moderate risk for purposes of the grid. 

2
 Exceptions:  person offenses, sex offenses, domestic violence offenses, driving under the influence / refusal to 

submit to a chemical test, failure to appear in court, violation of a condition of release. 
3
 Exceptions:  person offenses, sex offenses, domestic violence offenses, driving under the influence / refusal to 

submit to a chemical test, failure to appear in court, violation of a condition of release. 
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In all cases, judges must require the defendant to obey all laws and court orders and maintain 
contact with the defendant’s attorney and Pretrial Enforcement Officer (if assigned to supervision).  The 
judge may set additional conditions such as remaining alcohol-free, complying with travel restrictions, 
and maintaining employment.  

Pretrial Supervision 
The Pretrial Enforcement Division also has trained Pretrial Enforcement Officers who may be 

assigned to supervise or monitor defendants. These officers may monitor defendants using electronic 

monitoring if it is ordered by the court; they may also require regular check-ins like probation officers. 

The level of supervision will depend on the defendant’s risk level and needs. In places where the Pretrial 

Enforcement Division is unable to provide supervision, the court may authorize supervision by third-

party custodians. 

Summary 
What’s new:  

 Supervision by Pretrial Enforcement Officers 

 Risk assessment scores 

 Release decisions based on risk  

 Reduced use of money bonds, especially in cases where releasing the defendant poses less risk 
to the community 

 Very little use of third-party custodians 

What’s not new:  

 Judicial discretion to impose non-monetary conditions of release 

 Input from prosecutors, defense attorneys, and victims 

 Large secured bonds allowed in cases where the defendant has been charged with a serious 
crime and releasing the defendant poses a substantial risk to the community. 

More information 

Website for the Pretrial Enforcement Division, including FAQs and contact information: 

http://www.correct.state.ak.us/pretrial  

Website for the Alaska Criminal Justice Commission (resources on bail and pretrial release): 

http://www.ajc.state.ak.us/alaska-criminal-justice-commission/resource-list-compiled-by-commission-

staff  

Barbara Dunham, project attorney for the Criminal Justice Commission: bdunham@ajc.state.ak.us,  

907-279-2526x18 

http://www.correct.state.ak.us/pretrial
http://www.ajc.state.ak.us/alaska-criminal-justice-commission/resource-list-compiled-by-commission-staff
http://www.ajc.state.ak.us/alaska-criminal-justice-commission/resource-list-compiled-by-commission-staff
mailto:bdunham@ajc.state.ak.us

