811.15A [ANNEX A]

Countries and Jurisdictions with Mandatory Notifications

The following countries and jurisdictions require mandatory consular notification:

```
A Malbania Algeria Antigua and Barbuda Armenia Azerbaijan

B Bahamas Barbados Belarus Belize Brunei Bulgaria

C China (including Macao and Hong Kong)* Costa Rica Cyprus Czech Republic

D Dominica F Fiji G Gambia Georgia Ghana Grenada Guyana

H Hungary J Jamaica K Kazakhstan Kiribati Kuwait Kyrgyzstan

M Malaysia Malta Mauritius Moldova Mongolia N Nigeria

P Philippines Poland† R Romania Russia

S Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia

T Tajikistan Tanzania Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkmenistan Tuvalu

U Ukraine Munited Kingdom

T Uzbekistan Z Zambia Zimbabwe
```

^{*}Notification is not mandatory in the case of persons who carry "Republic of China" passports issued by Taiwan. Such persons should be informed without delay that the nearest office of the Taipei Economic and Cultural Representative Office ("TECRO"), the unofficial entity representing Taiwan's interests in the United States, can be notified at their request. TECRO's offices are listed on pages 126-127 in the Consular Notification and Access Manual; see also footnote 128 on page 66 of the manual.

[†]Mandatory only for foreign nationals who are not lawful permanent residents in the United States (i.e., "green card" holders). Otherwise, upon the national's request. See the question "But since 'green card' holders are living in the United States permanently, why can't I ignore consular notification requirements for them?" on page 12 of the manual; see also footnote 18 on page 43 of the manual.

[‡]The bilateral consular convention between the United States and the United Kingdom applies to British nationals from Great Britain (England, Wales, and Scotland); Northern Ireland; the Crown Dependencies of Jersey, Guernsey, and the Isle of Man; and the British Overseas Territories, including Anguilla, Bermuda, the British Virgin Islands, the Cayman Islands, Gibraltar, Montserrat, and the Turks and Caicos Islands, along with other island territories. Residents of the Overseas Territories may be traveling on a passport issued by the territory with no indication that the territory is British. Nevertheless, for them and all others from a British possession listed above, consular notification and access should be provided to the nearest U.K. consulate. For advice on how to ascertain whether an arrested or detained person is a British national, see the question "What about British nationals" on page 24 of the manual. For the U.S.-U.K. convention, see footnote 30 on page 47 of the manual.