Clemency Process for Alaska
(Updated 1/2018)

PHASE ONE:
APPLICATION

PHASE TWO:
INVESTIGATION

PHASE THREE:

ECAC

PHASE FOUR:
DECISION

Application submitted
to Alaska Board of
Parole.

E s

Board of Parole
reviews application
for completeness;

rejects incomplete or
ineligible applications.

= =

Complete application
forwarded to
Governor's Office.

E =

Governor can
DENY
application.

x

Governor requests further
investigation of the
application from the Board
of Parole.

. =

Governor issues notice of
consideration to the
Executive Clemency

Advisory Committee

(ECAC).
. B

Within 5 days, Board of
Parole sends notice to
victim(s)*, Dept. of Law,
and Office of Victims'
Services. Notice triggers
120 day period.**

ECAC meets to discuss
application.

Governor checks for conflicts
of interest.*** If conflict,
Dept. of Law or AG issue
opinion.

. B

Governor makes
final decision

whether to GRANT

or DENY clemency.
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Board of Parole sends
notice of consideration to
applicant, may request
more information.

ECAC votes on
recommendation.
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Board of Parole collects
other documents and
information regarding

applicant.

ECAC issues written
recommendations and
findings, submits report to
Governor's Office.

Governor notifies ECAC and
Board of Parole of decision.

. .

Board of Parole drafts
decision for Governor's
signature.

=

No later than 120 days after
receipt of notice of
consideration, the Board of
Parole submits a report of
investigation to the
Governor's Office.

u

Governor can DENY
application.
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Board of Parole provides
notice to Dept. of Law,
Office of Victims' Rights,
victim(s), and applicant.

E =

Clemency decision is publicly|
released. Decision is final
and cannot be

appealed. ****

33.20.080(b).

**120 day time period defined in AS 33.20.080.
***Disclosure in connection to conflict of interest between Governor and applicant defined in AS 39.52.225.
**xxApplicant cannot appeal, but may reapply for clemency three years after date of denial.

*Only victims of a crime against a person, a crime involving domestic violence, or arson in the first degree are required to be notified. AS
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