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STATE OF ALASKA
DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS




CIVIL RIGHTS MODIFICATION, FIREARMS PROHIBITION, AND COOPERATION WITH POLICE

In addition to the need for you to be thoroughly familiar with your general and special conditions of probation or parole, there is additional information, which the Department of Corrections must bring to your attention at this time:

LOSS/RESTORATION OF VOTING RIGHTS:

If you have been convicted of a felony including people with Suspended Imposition of Sentence (SIS) or Rule 11 Plea Agreements.

Article V, Section 2 of the Alaska Constitution states a person who has been convicted of a felony involving moral turpitude may not vote unless his or her civil rights have been restored.  Alaska Statute 15.05.030 withdraws the right to register to vote for persons convicted of a felony including moral turpitude.  The right to register to vote withdrawn under these sections is automatically restored upon the unconditional discharge of the person from probation or parole.  You will be provided notice of the restoration of your right to register to vote and a copy will be sent to the State Division of Elections upon your unconditional discharge.

DISQUALIFICATION AS A JUROR AND FOR ELECTIVE OR APPOINTIVE OFFICE:

Alaska Statute 09.20.020(2) states a person is disqualified to act as a juror if he/she has been convicted of a felony for which the person has not been unconditionally discharged.  Alaska Statute 15.25.030(10) precludes you from filing a declaration of candidacy for public office, and Alaska Statute 39.05.100 precludes you from being qualified for appointment to a board or commission of state government.

FIREARMS PROHIBITION:

State Disability - A.S. 11.61.200
	
Misconduct Involving Weapons in the Third Degree:  Knowingly possesses a firearm capable of being concealed on his person after having been convicted of a felony by a court of this state or a court of another state or territory,”  and/or “Resides in a dwelling knowing that there is a firearm capable of being concealed on one's person or a prohibited weapon in the dwelling if the person has been convicted of a felony by a court of this state, a court of the United States, or a court of another state or territory, unless the person has written authorization to live in a dwelling in which there is a concealable weapon from a court of competent jurisdiction or from the head of a law enforcement agency of the community in which the dwelling is located.”

Penalty:  Class C Felony, maximum of 5 years, presumptive terms of 2 years (second felony) and 3 years (third felony).  Disability ceases ten years after unconditional discharge.

Federal Disabilities

Misdemeanor Crime of Domestic Violence: Title 18 U.S.C 922(g)(9) prohibits persons convicted of Misdemeanor Crimes of Domestic Violence from using or possessing firearms of ammunition.

Gun Control Act of 1968 - [18 U.S.C. 922 (g)(9)]:  It shall be unlawful for any person who is under indictment for, or who has been convicted in any court of, a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year to receive any firearm or ammunition which has been shipped or transported in interstate or foreign commerce.

Penalty:  Up to 10 years and $5,000.  If possession is with the intent to commit felony, penalty is enhanced to 10 years and $10,000.

Relief:  If the crime the person was convicted of did not involve the use of a firearm or other weapon, the person can make application for a waiver to:  Asst.  Director Criminal Enforcement, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco & Firearms, PO Box 784, Ben Franklin Station, Washington, D.C. 20044.

a.  “Explosive materials” means explosives, blasting agents, and detonators.  The term “explosive” means gun powders, powders used for blasting, all forms of high explosives, blasting materials, fuses (other than electric circuit breakers), detonators, and other detonating agents, smokeless powders, other explosive or incendiary devices within the meaning of paragraph (5) of section 232 of this title, and any chemical compounds, mechanical mixture, or device that contains any oxidizing and combustible unit, or other ingredients, in such proportions, quantities, or packing that ignition by fire, by friction, by concussion, by percussion, or by detonation of the compound, mixture, or device or any part thereof my cause an explosion.

b.  It shall be unlawful for any person

(1)  who is under indictment for, or who has been convicted in any court of, a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year,

(2)  who is fugitive from justice;

(3)  who is an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance (as defined in section 102 of the Controlled Substances Act (21 U.S.C. 802)).

(4)  who has been adjudicated as a mental defective or who has been committed to a mental institution; 

to ship or transport any explosive in interstate or foreign commerce or to receive any explosive which has been shipped or transported in interstate or foreign commerce.

c.  Any person who violates subsections(a) through (I) of section 842 of this chapter shall be fined not more than $10,000 or imprisoned not more than ten years, or both.

d.  In order to ensure you do not violate the GUN CONTROL ACT, any firearm owned or possessed by you should be permanently removed from your custody and control immediately.  THAT MEANS ANY GUN IN THE HOUSE.

[bookmark: _GoBack]e.  The termination of parole or probation supervision DOES NOT automatically relieve you of the disabilities incurred under this act except in the case of a conviction set aside as part of Suspended Imposition of Sentence (SIS) relief by the Court or expungement by State authorities.  A conviction which has been pardoned by State authorities or set aside following SIS allows the possession or receipt of firearms otherwise prohibited.  (Pub.  L.  No.  99-308, 100 Stat.  449 (1986)).  The removal of disabilities in all cases except SIS or pardon may be approved ONLY AFTER FORMAL WRITTEN APPLICATION IS MADE TO THE U.S. DEPARTMENT OF TREASURY.  ON WRITTEN APPLICATION, YOU WILL BE MAILED THE NECESSARY FORMS.  AN INVESTIGATION WILL BE COMPLETED PRIOR TO THE APPROVAL OR DISAPPROVAL OF YOUR APPLICATION.

COOPERATION WITH POLICE:  Any and all contact a probationer or parolee has with police must be reported to his or her supervising officer within 24 hours or the next working day.  Persons under probation or parole supervision are prohibited from acting as an informant for law enforcement agencies or otherwise acting in an undercover capacity absent express permission from Superior Court.  You are expected to conduct yourself as a good citizen and cooperate with police in reporting crimes and/or providing information as a citizen witness as part of your civic duty.  If you have any questions or concerns regarding cooperation with police, you are expected to discuss them with your probation/parole officer for direction.
STATEMENT

I, _______________________________, have read or had read to me the above information, and clearly understand this information and now it pertains to my particular situation while I am on, and after, my probation and/or parole.

WITNESS OUR SIGNATURES this ______ day of __________________, 20___.

________________________					______________________
Probationer / Parolee						Probation / Parole Officer
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